BT

Breakthrough Collaborative / independent application guide

Breakthrough Collaborative Teaching Fellowship: Eligibility & How to Apply

A near-peer summer teaching residency where undergraduates lead academic and enrichment classes for students from underserved communities with more than 100 hours of training and continued educator coaching.

Reviewed by FirstInternships · Report a correction
Jump to a useful section
College yearUndergraduates of all majors · class year not stated
CompensationPaid
Location / arrangementOne of 25 Breakthrough affiliates across the United StatesSite-based nine-week summer teaching residency
Availability at reviewOpen at review · regular deadline Feb 25

Who can apply?

  • The national fellowship page says the program is open to undergraduates of all majors and that education coursework is not required. It does not publish a minimum class year, GPA, citizenship rule or prior-teaching requirement.
  • Applicants rank preferred affiliate locations, and selection committees review the application. Site dates, subjects and local participation requirements can differ, so a national application does not replace the chosen affiliate's details.
  • Fellows participate in a nine-week summer program, teach academic and enrichment classes and complete extensive training and coaching. Confirm that the full schedule at every location you rank fits your calendar.
Easy to miss

The national page confirms a living stipend but not its amount, housing or uniform dates. A location is not a practical option until you have checked that affiliate's complete terms.

Dates, pay & program timing

Published cutoff · · no time given

The Summer 2027 application was available at review. The early deadline is January 14, 2027 and the regular-decision deadline is February 25, 2027; neither has a published closing time. The national page promises a living stipend but does not state an amount, housing support or uniform term dates. Those practical terms must be checked for each affiliate.

View the deadline calendar

These details reflect the sources at the review date. An overview is not a live job offer. Check the official page for today's application status and the selected opening's written terms.

How to apply to Breakthrough Collaborative

  1. Review the national fellowship page and the affiliate map, then rank only locations where you can complete the local summer calendar and make a realistic housing and transportation plan.
  2. Build examples that show you can explain an idea, accept coaching and maintain a commitment to students. Follow the live application for its required questions and uploads; the public national page does not enumerate every application component.
  3. Submit by January 14 for early consideration or February 25 for regular decision. Save the confirmation and verify stipend, dates and housing directly with any affiliate that advances you.
Check official program & apply

You leave FirstInternships to apply. We do not accept applications, offer referrals, or represent the employer.

Our editorial advice · not employer requirements

How to prepare a stronger application

Choose a short teaching example before an interview or demonstration: one concept, a clear objective, a way to check understanding and a backup explanation. The goal is not to imitate an experienced teacher; it is to show that you notice whether learners are following and can adjust.

Research each ranked affiliate's students and summer model. Explain why near-peer teaching appeals to you and how you would contribute to a demanding team culture, using a real example of collaboration or service rather than a broad statement about wanting to help.

Your preparation, on this device

Make it a plan.

Checking an item saves this program. These are planning prompts, not a substitute for the employer's full requirements.

Add a stage & next action

Breakthrough Collaborative: questions before applying

Do I need to be an education major?

No. Breakthrough says undergraduates of every major may apply and no education coursework is required.

Is the Teaching Fellowship paid?

The national page promises a living stipend but does not publish a dollar amount. Confirm the amount and payment schedule with the affiliate.

How long is the fellowship?

Breakthrough describes a nine-week summer program with more than 100 hours of training and continued coaching.

Official sources & update notes

We reviewed these publisher pages on . They establish the program facts above; our preparation suggestions are independent editorial guidance.

We do not infer deadlines, remote eligibility, or guaranteed offers from older recruiting cycles. Read our editorial process.

Prepare the documents you need

Other pathways worth checking

TF
Teach For America

Ignite Fellowship

A semester-long virtual tutoring fellowship in which college students support small groups of K-12 students while receiving training, school-based guidance and practice building consistent learning relationships.

PaidVirtual with partner schools across the United States
Open at review · deadline Nov 18
College-year matchUndergraduate and graduate students · 2.5 college GPAIncludes year 1 · check every ruleView eligibility & steps
Published cutoff · · no time given
CI
Central Intelligence Agency

Directorate of Operations Undergraduate Internship

A first-year-only CIA track placing undergraduates in two in-person summer tours as staff operations or targeting officers, with a possible route into the Professional Trainee program.

PaidWashington, DC area
Window reopens Dec 15, 2026
College-year matchFirst-year students onlyIncludes year 1 · check every ruleView eligibility & steps
Published cutoff · · no time given
NR
USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service

Pathways Internships

Paid federal student employment in soil science, plant science, forestry, rangeland management, ecology and related conservation work, with a required service-hour pathway and possible conversion.

PaidNRCS offices and field locations nationwide
Check current USAJOBS announcements
Class-year guidanceCurrent students · years 1–2 described as idealRead the role before applyingView eligibility & steps
No universal cutoff confirmed
FB
Federal Bureau of Investigation

Honors Internship Program

A paid ten-week summer internship at FBI headquarters, field offices and satellite campuses for full-time students, run as a pipeline into entry-level FBI roles.

PaidFBI headquarters, field offices and satellite campuses
Summer 2027 cycle closed
Class-year guidanceGraduation-date based; freshmen eligibleRead the role before applyingView eligibility & steps
Published cutoff passed ·